E.Vaithilingam Memorial session 22nd and 23rd March 2008

The Seventh Dr E. Vaithilingam Memorial Scientific Conference was held on 22nd and 23rd of March in the Auditorium of MOP Vaishnav College for Women, Chennai. There were around 84 participants from outside. All the ESO students and SN optometrists were also a part of this grand function. Dr Lingam Gopal, Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya welcomed the gathering on the first day of the session. Dr T S Surendran, Vice-Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya shared his experience with the Late Dr E Vaithilingam. Chairman gave away the mementos to the speakers of the day. The Symposium on vision rehabilitation started at 10.00 am. About 10 different topics were discussed by eminent speakers. The day came to an end with the vote of thanks by Mr. J Jothi Balaji, Manager, Optometry Department.

Dr S Meenakshi, Director Academics welcomed the gathering on the second day following which she presented mementos to the judges of the free-paper presentation and the sponsors. More than 25 papers were presented at the symposium. Dr Sajeesh Kumar, ESO Alumnus donated his book on Teleophthalmology to ESO Library. He handed over the book to the Principal of ESO Mr R Krishnakumar. He also sponsored “Kamala Raghavan Sajeesh ESO Travel Grants” to 9 participants from outside Chennai for the consecutive second year. Ms Lekha Abraham and Ms H Jameel Rizwana won the awards for best paper in the student category and regular category respectively. The grand function came to an end with the Vote of Thanks delivered by Dr. L. Srinivasa Varadharajan, Lecturer, ESO.

Previous Post

Orientation Programme on 01-04-08

Next Post

World Glaucoma Day on March 06, 2008