Sankara Nethralaya makes a strong impact at the AIOC 2012

If conferring of the ‘Life Time Achievement Award’ on its Chairman Emeritus was the moment of crowning glory for Sankara Nethralaya at the AIOC-2012, held at Kochi, the 70th All India Ophthalmological Conference had other memorable moments too for the Sankara Nethralaya family to cherish. Dr Jyotirmay Biswas, Director Uveitis and Ocular Pathology was decorated with the prestigious ‘Honorary Fellowship of the All India Ophthalmological Collegium’ for his significant contribution in his area of specialization. Dr.L.Vijaya, Head of the Glaucoma Department was honoured with the IJO Platinum Award for her paper titled ‘Outcome and cataract size in Chennai Glaucoma Study’ submitted in year 2010.The paper titled ‘The 8 year experience with MOOKP in India- Where do we stand?’ A well researched presentation by Dr Shwetha Agarwal, Consultant Cornea Department was selected as the ‘Best Paper in Cornea’, it was a second successive year of pride and jubilation for the Neuro-opthalmology team as its deputy director Dr. Shikha Talwar Bassi, won the ‘Best paper in Neuro-ophthalmology’ for her presentation titled ‘Optical coherence tomography in papilledima and pseudo papilledima with or without optic disc drusen’. Dr Akshay Nair a first year PhD student of DNB was awarded the ‘SD Athavale award’ for the best paper in Neuro-ophthalmology for his paper ‘Diagnostic field for Neuro-imaging in sixth nerve palsy’ co-authored by Dr Gandhi Rashmin Anil Kumar, Director, Sankara Nethralaya Academy and e-learning and submitted in year 2011, another student who made a mark in this year’s AIOC awards was Mohammed Aris Abdul Rab Mulla a Vitro Retina Fellow who was honoured with the ‘Young Researcher Award’ for his thesis topic titled ‘Polymerase Chain reaction in infection Uveitis’.

After making a strong presense in the serious deliberations, Sankara Nethralaya went on to stake its share of glory in the quick recall and response rounds with Dr. Vineeth  Rathra, Senior Consultant, Nava Suja Sankara Nethralaya and Dr Atheeshwar Das, VR Fellow winning a Samsung Galaxy Tab and a Samsung Wave mobile each at the AIOS National Ophthalmic Quiz contest.

As an institution with a strong bonding with its past students, it was a matter of great pride that winners like Dr.S.Natarajan who won the P.Siva Reddy International Award for innovations in Vitreoretinal surgery and Dr. G.Mahesh who won the first prize at the quiz contest are alumni of Sankara Nethralaya

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Previous Post

Sankara Nethralaya triggers interest in high places

Next Post

Sankara Nethralaya wins NABH accreditation


    • Murali Vasudevan
    • February 12, 2012

    well done SN Congrat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *