2010 Alumni meet

2010 Alumni meetThe annual SN alumni meet was held at Sankara Nethralaya on July 4, 2010. The meet began with a session on Retina where specialists in the field discussed, among others, the use of Triamcinolone, as an adjunct, in Vitreo Retinal Surgery and the 20G sutureless Vitrectomy. Insights into a few interesting cases were shared with the gathering.

Ms. Akila Ganesan, GM, Sankara Nethralaya briefed the gathering on Sankara Nethralaya’s latest endeavour — the Sankara Nethralaya Academy, which was launched early this year. The objective, she said, was to create a pool of well-trained personnel who would work within the ophthalmic institution and provide the requisite support to doctors.

Chairman Emeritus Dr. SS Badrinath shared with the alumni the genesis of Sankara Nethralaya from humble beginnings in 1978 to its growth as one of India’s finest ophthalmic hospitals. He attributed the institution’s outstanding success to the “abundant grace of his holiness Sri Jayendra Saraswathi and the extraordinary work done by his colleagues during the formative years.”

Dr. Abhishek Kothari, won the Nataraja Pillai award for his paper on “Xcyton Macrochip based endophthalmitis management.”

Mr. Sampath Kumar, Chief Information Technology Officer, spoke on the benefits of Electronic Medical Records in the health sector.

A host of doctors also spoke on the occasion including Dr. Mohanshankar, Dr. Madhu Badauria, Dr. Sujatha Mohan, Dr. Navin Jayakumar, Dr. S Natarajan, Dr. TS Surendran, Dr. Rajiv Raman and Dr. Pukhraj Rishi, Dr. Daraius Shroff and Dr. GVN Ramakumar.

The meet was attended by alumni from different parts of the country. The entire proceeding was web casted and viewed by about 100 people from across the globe.

Tags: , , ,
Previous Post

SN-ISCO join hands to treat corneal blindness

Next Post

Paediatric services inaugurated at Bangalore centre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *