Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists

Sankara Nethralaya’s contribution to quality assurance and its head’s magnanimity come for high praise

Year 2016 marked the transfer of the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologist’s (IAMM) External Quality Assessment Scheme’ (EQAS) back to the CMC Vellore where the initiative began in a small way more than two decades ago. The October issue of the IAMM’s newsletter shared an eventful two decades of the EQAS with its readers, tracing the beginning of the initiative under Dr Mary V. Jesudason (co-ordinator), Dr T. Jacob John (President) and Dr SS.Badrinath, Seccretary. The national EQAS under the IAMM moved to the L&T Microbilgy research centre, Sankara Nethralaya with Dr HN.Madhavan, Dr Lily Therse and Dr J.Malathi joining the team. The IAMM’s EQAS for the North and North East began to function at the Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, New Delhi.

When the need to move the EQAS southern chapter to a more spacious premises was felt the CMC Vellore volunteered to run the same. The handing over ceremony took place at the Sri. VD  Swamy Auditrorium , the yeoman service rendered to the quality initiative by past presidents, secretaries and executive members were recalled with gratitude and Dr SS.Badrinath’s spontaneous acceptance to hand over the process back to CMC was highly praised.

Dr HN.Madhavan conferred with rare distinction at prestigious professional meet

The xxxvi National Conference of the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists (IAMM)- MICRON 2012 organized by the Microbiology Department of the Lady Harding Medical College, New Delhi was conducted at the Indian Habitat Centre, New Delhi between the 22nd and 25th of November 2012. The Chief Guest for the function was Shri Kehev Desiraju, Special […]

Continue Reading

Pioneering work by Vision Research Foundation in Microbiology wins dual recognition

In what could be considered as a proud testimony to the Vision Research Foundation’s pioneering work in the field of Microbiology, the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists (IAMM) the prestigious body has selected two of its members for high recognition and reward.  Dr. HN.Madhavan, President, Vision Research Foundation was selected to receive the ‘Life time […]

Continue Reading