Blog Subscription

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Dr HN.Madhavan conferred with rare distinction at prestigious professional meet

The xxxvi National Conference of the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists (IAMM)- MICRON 2012 organized by the Microbiology Department of the Lady Harding Medical College, New Delhi was conducted at the Indian Habitat Centre, New Delhi between the 22nd and 25th of November 2012. The Chief Guest for the function was Shri Kehev Desiraju, Special Secretary Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and the guest of honour was Dr KK.Talwar, Chairman, Board of Governors, Medical Council of India. The eminent speakers on the occasion like Dr Iyer Ranganathan, Secretary, IAMM, Dr Arunalok Chakraborty, President, IAMM and Dr Srinath Reddy, President, National Board of Examinations highlighted the critical contributions made by microbiologists in facilitating rapid diagnosis and their strategic assistance in preventing the outbreak of epidemics.

The crowning glory of the function was the honouring of Dr HN.Madhavan, President, Vision Research Foundation, with the highly prestigious ‘Dr U.V. Chaturvedi Lifetime Achievement Award’ by Dr Arunalok Chakraborty, President, IAMM for his stupendous contribution to the field of Microbiology through his sterling performance in his various roles as Founder of the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists, a focused Researcher, teacher par excellence and for his ceaseless efforts in establishing world class virology laboratories including the one at JIPMER which is recognized as a referral laboratory for Enteroviruses by the WHO. Speaking on the occasion Dr Iyer Ranganathan, Secretary of IAMM summed up Dr HN.Madhavan’s achievements by lauding him as the ‘Father of Virology in India’ and ‘Pioneer of Microbiology in India’.

Dr K.Lily Therese, HOD, L&T Microbiology laboratory, Vision Research Foundation, chaired the session on bacteriology; the papers on Mycobacteriology presented by her and on Immunology by Dr Mahalakshmi and Bacteriology by Ms Aarthi were very well received and appreciated.

Acknowledging the award conferred on him Dr HN.Madhavan thanked the organizers for the rare distinction, he expressed his thanks to the Medical and Vision Research Foundations for their gesture in conducting the IAMM-EQAS.

It was indeed a proud moment for Sankara Nethralaya!

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>