1st OFISACON inaugurated

1st OFISACON inaugurated

The Ophthalmic forum of Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists had a memorable and grand first birthday on 3rd September, 2011, while the new born was greeted and wished a long and eventful life by all those who had gathered for the occasion, a greeting from the Prime Minster of India made the day.  An interesting coincidence was that the 1st birthday was being celebrated at the Sri VD Swami Auditorium the very same place it was formed a year ago.

Dr S.Bhaskaran, Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya extended a warm welcome to the guests and participating dignitaries, he recounted that Dr SS Badrinath, Chairman Emeritus, Sankara Nethralaya was among the first to realize the need to recognize and develop ocular anaesthesia as an exclusive sub-specialty and the need for an interactive platform between ocular anaesthetists and ophthalmologists for a better understanding of ophthalmic anaesthesia which led to the formation of the OFISA

Dr VV Jaichandran, organizing secretary of OFISA gave an interesting account of the birth, growth, achievements and future goals of OFISA and underlined the role played by Sankara Nethralaya and its founder Dr SS Badrinath in its inception. Chief guest Brigadier Dr AP.Kamath expressed his happiness at ocular anaesthesia being given its due importance and recognition through OFISA, he also thanked Sankara Nethralaya for its consistent support of the armed forces.

Guest of honour Dr Deepak Malviya, President, Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists expressed his admiration for Sankara Nethralaya’s selfless service to the poor and its role in the formation of OFISA; he also paid homage to Dr VG. Appukutty who played a pioneering role in the formation of Sankara Nethralaya’s department of anaesthesiology.

It was also a day of remembrance for Dr Appukutty and his services to Sankara Nethralaya and role in starting the anaesthesia department, Mrs. Appukutty was honoured with a momento by the Chief guest after which she distributed the prizes for the winners of the VG Appukutty quiz. The free papers award were given away by Dr SS Badrinath, Chairman Emeritus, Sankara Nethralaya

Details of winners

Dr VG Appukutty Memorial quiz

Winning teams

1st prize – Dr Revathy and Dr Elangovan, Madras Medical College
2nd prize – Dr Akshay Nair and Dr Debmalya Das, Sankara Nethralaya
3rd prize – Dr M.Ramya and Dr M.Gayathri, Regional Institute of Ophthalmology

Free Paper awards

Winner of the 1st Prize – Dr Pooja Goyal, Sankara Nethralaya
Winner of the 2nd Prize – Dr Loganathan M, Ahalya Eye Foundation
Winner of the 3rd Prize – Dr Praveen Rewri, Sankara Nethralaya

The evening concluded with a vote of thanks by Dr Sujatha R to the organizers, participants, guests, sponsors and caterers, followed by an enthralling light music program by Yodhaka and dinner at the roof top.

Ophthalmic anaesthesia meet
The Hindu

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Previous Post

National Eye donation fortnight sees fresh impetus in eye donation drive

Next Post

Course in hospital management


    • September 14, 2011

    A very neatly planned event with good scientific content. well executed within time frame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *